2011 - 2012



Jeffrey A. Ranta, M.D.

Mark K. Plante, M.D.

E. Ann Gormley, M.D.

Stephen F. Schiff, M.D.

Arthur E. Tarantino, M.D.

Past President
Timothy B. Hopkins, M.D.

Peter N. Tiffany, M.D.


Gregory S. Adey, M.D.

Representative Connecticut
John A. Taylor, III, M.D.

Western Mass

Paula B. Bellin, M.D.


Andrew C. Mahoney, M.D.

New Hampshire

John J. Munoz, M.D.

Rhode Island

Joseph F. Renzulli, II, M.D.

Eastern Mass

Dianne E. Sacco, M.D.

Board of Directors (Rep)
David F. Green, M.D.

Aurelie M. Alger, J.D.
500 Cummings Center, Suite 4400
Beverly, MA 01915
tel: (978)927-8330
fax: (978)524-8890

NEAUA Highlighter Newsletter

Spring, 2012
The mission of the New England Section of the American Urological Association, Incorporated is to support the New England urological community in providing the highest quality patient care.

Mission Statement adopted by the NEAUA Board of Directors on November 2, 2011

Jeffrey A. Ranta, MD

Jeffrey A. Ranta, MD The New England Section Annual Meeting is shaping up to be an exciting educational forum with topics of interest for all members of the Section and our guests. Drs. Jill Buckley and John Taylor have been working tirelessly and dedicating their considerable intellect and talent to bring us a truly splendid program. Read More

Arthur E. Tarantino, MD

Arthur E. Tarantino, MD Thank you for the opportunity to serve as Treasurer of the New England Section of the AUA. For tax purposes, the NEAUA has been divided into a C6 Corporation which is responsible for dues collection and Government Affairs/Practice Management and a C3 corporation which is responsible for Education and Research. Twenty percent of the collected dues stay within the C6 with the remainder going to the C3. Read More

AUA 2012 Research Forum

The AUA Research Forum, "Showcasing Young Investigators," is scheduled for Sunday, May 20, 2012 from 3:00 5:30 p.m. in the Georgia World Congress Center, Room A 305. The program features posters and podium presentations from top young investigators nominated by the AUA Sections and Specialty Societies, including Dr. Adam Feldman, MD, MPH of the New England Section. Please attend this Forum and support Dr. Feldman on May 20th. Registration for the Research Forum is FREE.

2012 Research Forum Program

2012 AUA Research Events


The AUA recently announced that Dr. Subbarao V. Yalla, MD of Newburyport, Massachusetts will receive the Victor A. Politano Award in 2012 and will be honored at the AUA Annual Meeting this May in Atlanta, Georgia. Read More



E. Ann Gormley, MD

The New England Section Board of Directors met Saturday March 17, 2012 in Woodstock, Vermont for its mid-winter meeting. A substantial portion of the meeting was spent discussing our upcoming 2012 New England Section Annual Meeting at the Westin Boston Waterfront in Boston. Read More


In March 2011 the Section Board of Directors and Long Range Planning Committee held a half-day strategic planning session to discuss the future of urology and the Section's role. After evaluation of the outcomes, the Board of Directors and Long Range Planning Committee adopted a set of strategic initiatives to guide the Section over the next several years. Read More


Sam Broaddus is the division director of urology at Maine Medical Center in Portland, Maine. After completing residency in Burlington, Vermont, he joined Portland Urologic Associates, bringing shockwave lithotripsy and PCNL to Maine in the 1980s. Portland Urologic Associates joined Maine Medical Center in 2008, a partnership that allowed a new residency in urology to be created, the only one in the state. Read More



Read More